A Logical Approach to CompTIA Security+ vs. CEH v11 Certification

A Logical Approach to CompTIA Security+ vs. CEH v11 Certification

CompTIA Security+ vs. CEH v11: You may have come across the CompTIA Security+ and CEH v11 credentials if you looked into cybersecurity certifications, which is a big issue in the digital world. These two credentials are the most often used in the cybersecurity industry. Consider your current knowledge and abilities, as well as the professional path you intend to follow, while determining whether to take CompTIA Security+ or CEH.

But, let’s be honest, finding and committing to certification when you’re new to the world of cybersecurity, or any new job for that matter, can be a daunting task. After all, you’re going to put up your own money and devote your time to furthering your education. If this choice is bothering you, you’ve come to the perfect spot. The CompTIA Security+ and CEH v11 certifications will be compared and contrasted in this article. It will assist you in determining the finest accreditation for yourself.

Why cybersecurity?

First and foremost, you must choose why you want to join the field of cybersecurity. Cybersecurity refers to the protection of computer systems and networks against data leakage, theft, or damage to their hardware, software, or electronic data, as well as interruption or misdirection of the services they offer.

Cyberattacks and data breaches are on the rise as a result of the world’s fast digital transformation. As a result, cybersecurity has become critical for every organization or person. Because of the growing demand for cybersecurity services, there is a greater need for people who can assist with the protection of IT systems. As a result, there has never been a better time to start a career in cybersecurity. The cybersecurity industry offers the greatest opportunity for advancement in both your career and learning possibilities.

Now that we understand what cybersecurity is and why it is advantageous to pursue a career in this industry, let us look at the two certificates listed above.

What is CompTIA Security+ Certification?

The CompTIA Security+ certification is a worldwide certification test that validates the fundamental abilities required to execute basic security responsibilities and pursue a career in information security. The Security+ certification focuses on hands-on practical skills that enable the security professional is equipped to tackle problems on a wider range of topics.

It is the first security certification that I.T. workers should get, since it establishes the foundational knowledge required for any cybersecurity function and serves as a springboard for intermediate-level cybersecurity employment. This credential ensures that cybersecurity professionals understand how to resolve security events, rather than just recognizing them.

The CompTIA Security+ certification is an internationally recognized certification that displays the fundamental capabilities of people seeking a career in the information technology security business. People who get this certificate may demonstrate their abilities in the following areas depending on the test objectives:

  • Attacks, threats, and vulnerabilities — Detecting different types of compromise and possessing expertise in vulnerability scanning and penetration testing.
  • Tools and Technologies — Deploying different network components, as well as analyzing and troubleshooting problems related to operational and information security technologies.
  • Architecture and design – Understanding how to put cloud computing, a secure network, system architecture, and virtualization technologies into action.
  • Identity and access management- Implementing better access control, identity management, access services, and management controls.
  • Cryptography and PKI — Installing and configuring wireless security settings, as well as establishing public key infrastructure (PKI).
  • Risk Management – Recognizing risk management and data security best practices, as well as their commercial implications.

There are no prerequisites for taking the CompTIA Security+ certification test. Having said that, CompTIA still recommended that candidates have at least two years of experience working in information technology administration with a security emphasis. Other core certificates, like as the CompTIA A+ or Fundamental+, might also be beneficial.

What is CEH v11 Certification?

The Certified Ethical Hacker Exam is intended to examine and certify an applicant’s readiness to execute security assessments. It is created, managed, and administered by the EC-Council and is intended for candidates who are just starting out in their careers in information security. To take the test, you must have either two years of experience in the area or complete a training program authorized by the EC-Council.

The CEH v11 test may be taken after completing the training course or being verified by a manager or supervisor. The test consists of 125 questions divided into seven domains:

  • Domain 1: Background (21.79%)
  • Domain 2: Analysis/Assessment (12.73%)
  • Domain 3: Security (23.73%)
  • Domain 4: Tools/Systems/Programs (28.91%)
  • Domain 5: Procedures/Methodology (8.77%)
  • Domain 6: Regulation/Policy (1.90%)
  • Domain 7: Ethics (2.17%)

There is no established criterion for determining whether or not an applicant passes the test. Instead, the passing score for a specific instance of the test is controlled by the complexity of the exam, thus a lower score on a more difficult edition may be regarded passing while a higher score on an easier one may not be. The cutoff score for a test is normally between 55 and 85 percent. Passing the test certifies the candidate for three years, during which time they must obtain CPE credits in order to be re-accredited for the next three years.


Comparison of CompTIA Security+ and CEH v11


CompTIA Security+ CEH v11


$370 USD

$1,199 USD

Exam Format

Multiple-choice and performance-based


Recommended Experience

Two years in IT and CompTIA Network+ certification

Two years in IT security and CompTIA Security+ certification

Area of focus

Focuses on the layers of defense and terminology used most frequently in IT security roles

Focuses more on the hacking process and attack types

Job Roles 1. Security Analyst
2. Network Administrator
3. IT Support Technician
4. Systems Administrator
5. Security Administrator
6. Junior IT Auditor
7. Security Consultant
8. Security Engineer

1. Penetration Tester
2. Ethical Hacker
3. IT Auditor
4. Security Engineer
5. Security Consultant
6. Network Security Specialist

Mens Suits Vancouver

CompTIA Security+ vs. CEH v11?

You can’t go wrong with either of these credentials. Both of these certificates will assist you in your career as a cybersecurity professional. If you are completely new to the field of cybersecurity, consider getting the CompTIA Security+ (plus) certification. If you have past industry expertise, CEH v11 certification is a fantastic choice. CEH v11 focuses on increasing professional understanding of certain IT subjects such as penetration testing and ethical hacking. You may also choose both. When deciding between the two, it all comes down to where you want to go in your career. Make an informed decision!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× How can I help you?